Europeiska unionens flagga i färg på ett dator-tangentbord.

The different product requirements

In the mid-1980s, the EU introduced something they called the New Approach. The New Approach aimed to create a common regulatory framework throughout the EU for electrical products and other products. The intention was to guarantee the free movement of products within the EU while preserving competitive neutrality.

Under the New Approach, responsibility for the safety of products placed on the market lies with the supplier or the importer. The CE mark affirms that the product meets all applicable safety requirements.

For electrical products, the National Electrical Safety Board has supervisory responsibility for five EU directives:

  • LVD (Low Voltage Directive)
  • EMC (electromagnetic compatibility)
  • ATEX (products in potentially explosive environments)
  • GPSD (General Product Safety Directive)
  • Toys Directive

These directives have been transposed into Swedish law and the resulting legislation governs the way the National Electrical Safety Board performs its supervisory duties, for example by checking products available on the market (market surveillance).

Last reviewed: 2020-12-12